

Shropshire Council Legal and Democratic Services Shirehall Abbey Foregate Shrewsbury SY2 6ND

Date: Tuesday, 14 March 2017

Committee:

Strategic Licensing Committee

Date: Wednesday, 22 March 2017

Time: 10.00 am

Venue: Shrewsbury Room, Shirehall, Abbey Foregate, Shrewsbury, Shropshire, SY2 6ND

You are requested to attend the above meeting.

The Agenda is attached

Claire Porter

Head of Legal and Democratic Services (Monitoring Officer)

Members of the Committee

Keith Roberts (Chairman) Andrew Davies (Vice Chairman)

Peter Adams

Joyce Barrow

Vernon Bushell
Dean Carroll
Peter Cherrington
Nigel Hartin
Roger Hughes

Duncan Kerr Nic Laurens Robert Macey Vivienne Parry

Jon Tandy Robert Tindall

Substitute Members of the Committee

Andrew Bannerman

Gwilym Butler Vince Hunt

John Cadwallader

Ted Clarke
Pauline Dee
Richard Huffer
John Hurst-Knight
Christian Lea
Jane MacKenzie

William Parr
David Roberts
David Turner
Tina Woodward
Paul Wynn

Your Committee Officer is:

Emily Marshall Committee Officer

Tel: 01743 257717

Email: <u>emily.marshall@shropshire.gov.uk</u>



AGENDA

1 Apologies

To receive apolgies for absence

2 Minutes of Previous Meeting (Pages 1 - 6)

To approve the minutes of the previous meeting as a true record

3 Public Question Time

To receive any public questions or petitions from the public, notice of which has been given in accordance with Procedure Rule 14. The deadline for this meeting is 5.00 pm. on Friday, 17th March 2017.

4 Disclosable Pecuniary Interests

Members are reminded that they must not participate in the discussion or voting on any matter in which they have a Disclosable Pecuniary Interest and should leave the room prior to the commencement of the debate.

5 Licensing Fees and Charges 2017 - 2018

Following the consultation process that was undertaken between 30 January 2017 and 26 February 2017 in relation to the hackney carriage and private hire fees and charges that were proposed by the Strategic Licensing Committee on the 25 January 2017, no objections were received and hence the fees came into effect on the 27 February 2017in accordance with the Committee recommendation.

6 Licensing Forward Plan (Pages 7 - 12)

Report of the Transactional and Licensing Manager is attached, marked 6.

Contact: Mandy Beever (01743 251702).

7 Air Quality and the Euro 6 Emission Standard (Pages 13 - 16)

Report of the Transactional and Licensing Manager is attached, marked 7.

Contact: Mandy Beever (01743 251702).

8 Exercise of Delegated Power (Pages 17 - 24)

Report of the Transactional and Licensing Manager is attached, marked 8.

Contact: Mandy Beever (01743 251702).

9 Records of Proceedings (Pages 25 - 34)

To note the records of proceedings of the Licensing Act Sub-Committee meetings for October 2016 to February 2017 are attached for the Committees information.

• 10th October 2016

- 12th December 2016
- 1st February 2017 (Minutes to follow)

Contact: Emily Marshall (01743 257717) or Shelley Davies (01743 257718)

10 Future Agenda Items

An opportunity for Members to identify additional matters that ought to be brought before the Committee for consideration at future meetings.

11 Date of Next Meeting

To note that the next meeting of the Strategic Licensing Committee will be held on 14th June 2017 in the Shrewsbury Room, Shirehall, Shrewsbury.